The end of one road, and the beginning of another

This blog started out as a social media assignment for class. It was my first time traversing the blogosphere since the late 90’s and I wasn’t sure what to expect.  One thing I did not expect was that I would enjoy blogging as much as I have so far. Blogging has helped me discover new things about the online world and about myself. When I started this blog, I wrote about how I hoped the blogosphere would help me discover a career path. As a student who has one term left of college, it is something I really need to nail down as soon as possible. In the process of discovering a new public relations avenue I was surprised to find that my blog did help me discover exactly what career path I want to follow.

For those of you who haven’t read my blog, I started out writing about random topics. First my introductory post, followed by a post about Toyota. My next post is when I really discovered my new PR passion. I have always been a fan of video games, but had never noticed how big a part pr has in the virtual world. What started out as a one-time blog post eventually became the theme of my blog. More than the theme of my blog, video game pr has evolved into my chosen career path.

This is not the end of my blog, just the end of the first chapter of my blog. This blog is now transitioning from something I need to do, to something I want to do. For my last “assignment post” I want to take a quick break from video game PR. Instead, I want to give new bloggers a few steps they may help them find a new passion and career path to follow

1. Explore. Take the time to explore different avenues on the internet. Use your first few posts to explore, in detail, a variety of topics.  By giving yourself some time to explore you may discover new things that spark your interest.

2. Narrow it down. Pick one (or two) topics that you really had a good time researching. Write another few posts about these topics, and give yourself some time to explore them more indepthly. This will give you the chance to decide whether this is something you really have a passion for and would want to focus your blog on.

3. Invest. After finding your passion, invest time in finding new topics within your overall umbrella topic to write about. Not only will is help you discover new and exciting things, but it will keep you up to date on your chosen topic. Keeping up with news stories and new trends is imperative when looking for a career path.

These three steps should help you discover a new passion to enjoy, and maybe a new career path to travel down. I am a perfect example of what a blog can help you discover! Stick around for more posts on video game PR in the future. I am looking forward to beginning this next chapter of my blog, and discovering new parts of video game journalism.

One response to “The end of one road, and the beginning of another

  1. Niki,

    My exploration of the blogosphere began in a similar fashion; as a SM assignment while doing my post grad in PR & Corporate Communications.

    Now a communicator in the field and a social media strategist, I encourage students to really dive into this emerging area of PR with enthusiasm. There is no area easier to become an expert in than social media. For the first time, young PR pro’s are commanding a room of senior exec’s– the roles can be reversed, your career propelled, if you take the reigns on this trend.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

